We all have a few romantic movies that just stand out in our minds as our all time favorites. They linger in our hearts and minds for years. They invade our dreams, but we see ourselves there in the leading role, meeting that someone special, falling in love and planning the happily ever after life. Yes, the world of timeless romance draws us in and holds us captive.

Some of the greatest love stories imaginable are depicted on the silver screen and we leave the theater feeling like we actually know Elizabeth & Darcy, Romeo & Juliet and Harry & Sally.

These popular romantic movies awaken that deep longing in all of us to love and be loved. They affirm, or reaffirm. our notion that there are couples who somehow manage to endure life’s difficulties and remain dedicated to each other and deeply in love. Sometimes I even come away feeling like I have learned something new about love and enduring relationships.


One of my personal favorite romantic movies of all time is The Ghost and Mrs. Muir.

I couldn’t even start to tell you how many times I have watched that movie. I love the characters, I love the actors, I love the love story and I especially love the depiction of love being eternal.

Since Captain Gregg is a ghost, this movie is pure romance! A story of finding a true soul mate. Aaaah, just writing about it makes me want to watch it again, now!


I would love to read your review of your favorite romance movie of all time and I know I am not alone.

People are always looking for a great recommendation. Nothing is ever as influential as an actual review from a viewer.


SOME OF THE MOST POPULAR ROMANCE MOVIES OF ALL TIME

Have you seen any of these movies? The world is waiting for that next great recommendation and I invite you to grab your favorite movie that is listed here and write that review, before someone else does!


You may also like...

Comments


What is your favorite Romantic Movie of All Time?



Did you see it listed above?



Did you write a review for it?



If so, please share the link to your review here so we can all visit it and seek out our next favorite Most Popular Romantic Movie of All Time!



I would love to hear from everyone. Even if you didn't write a review today, please leave me a note letting me know you dropped by. You can always return later to select a movie to review!



If you did not see your favorite Romance Movie listed above and you would like to review it, please leave me a note here. I will add your favorite Romance Movie to this list, so you will be able to submit your review through this article and be a part of the Forever Hopeless Romantic niche on Squidoo.






Need Help Writing A Review? No problem! You can click here and use this tutorial as your guide!

  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • ibidii Mar 19, 2014 @ 11:44 am
    I reviewed Persuasion 1995, one of my very favorite Romance movies!
    http://www.squidoo.com/best-romantic-patience-has-everlasting-love-book
  • serendipity831 Feb 24, 2014 @ 8:03 pm
    Here is my review of my all time favorite love story~ http://www.squidoo.com/the-40th-anniversary-of-the-way-we-were
  • craftress Feb 20, 2014 @ 2:23 am
    Awesome selection of movies! Reviewed many of them!
  • LSJ-88 Feb 18, 2014 @ 11:02 pm
    So MANY favorites here. I could be here for DAYS writing review lenses. :)
  • crystalwriter Feb 18, 2014 @ 12:37 am
    I love your selection of movies for this lens. I wasn't going to write a review unless I saw "While You Were Sleeping," and there it was, first on the list. Of course, I didn't know someone else had already written one, and if I had, I may not have written it. But, as it turns out, I enjoyed the writing and have had some fun comments and visits. If you want another one for your really cool Facebook wall, mine is at http://www.squidoo.com/the-best-case-of-unexpected-love and thanks for such a neat jumping off point for first-time reviewers. There are more I want to watch, watch again, and maybe review.
  • Sylvestermouse Feb 20, 2014 @ 3:26 pm
    I can assure you, it doesn't matter one bit if someone else has reviewed the movie previously or not. Certain writers seem to speak directly to me, while others may be speaking directly to someone else. I loved you review!
  • favored1 Feb 17, 2014 @ 5:35 pm
    I had forgotten about so many of these films. It's been some time since I've seen most of them. Looking forward to the reviews.
  • CalobrenaOmai Feb 16, 2014 @ 11:28 pm
    I'm surprised Quigley Down Under made the list. Didn't know it qualified. As t-e-m-p-t-i-n-g as this is I won't survive the writing session.
  • ikoreanx3 Feb 15, 2014 @ 9:14 pm
    oh, these are all old movies. Thank you for sharing. I will check it out :)
  • Karen1960 Feb 15, 2014 @ 4:47 am
    'The Most Romantic Film of All Time' (according to a British newspaper poll in 2010) - Brief Encounter. http://www.squidoo.com/classic-british-film-brief-encounter
  • Sylvestermouse Feb 18, 2014 @ 2:20 pm
    I loved the review! This movie may be 70 years old, but it is new to me and I love that! Thank you!
  • Arachnea Feb 14, 2014 @ 8:17 pm
    I really grokked with this movie. ;) I don't think my review does it justice. http://www.squidoo.com/movie-review-62905
  • Sylvestermouse Feb 17, 2014 @ 3:11 pm
    I think it is a great review! Thank you! I featured it on our Forever Hopeless Romantics Facebook page today!
  • WhiteIsland88 Feb 14, 2014 @ 4:10 pm
    I love Anne of Avonlea (the Anne of Green Gables sequel) with Megan Follows, and the romance that develops between Anne and Gil. So many other great ones in the list above, too!
  • Sylvestermouse Feb 17, 2014 @ 10:28 am
    Thank you WhiteIsland88! I do agree! They are great movies. I added the trilogy set for you. If you need them separated so you can write 3 separate reviews, just let me know. I wanted to make sure we covered the actual romance and I couldn't remember for sure, but I believe that is the 2nd & 3rd movies, but the 1st is definitely a must!
  • WhiteIsland88 Feb 17, 2014 @ 1:50 pm
    Well, it didn't turn out exactly as I had envisioned it, but I think it's good to have the surrounding story. http://www.squidoo.com/anne-of-green-gables-an-american-classic -- somehow, I forgot it was a Canadian setting when I first titled it. :)
  • Sylvestermouse Feb 18, 2014 @ 2:49 pm
    I loved this entire series of movies! I did smile over your comment. That would be a very easy mistake to make since the movies are beloved by so many Americans.
  • DaisyDixon Feb 14, 2014 @ 2:26 pm
    This is my favorite romantic comedy, and movie I loved as a young teenager! http://www.squidoo.com/10-things-i-hate-about-you
  • Sylvestermouse Feb 14, 2014 @ 3:30 pm
    This really is an excellent review DaisyDixon! Thank you!
  • partybuzz Feb 14, 2014 @ 10:29 am
    The Notebook has to be my favorite romantic movie! Happy Valentine's Day!
  • DaisyDixon Feb 14, 2014 @ 10:13 am
    A lot of great ones to pick from here!
  • Wednesday_Elf Feb 14, 2014 @ 9:56 am
    Stopping by to wish the 'Forever Hopeless Romantic' contributor a Happy Valentine's Day -- a day for us to choose our favorite romantic movie to watch with our special someone. Have a LOVEly day!
  • ThanksDevine Feb 14, 2014 @ 4:01 am
    http://www.squidoo.com/the-bodyguard

    Link for the BODYGUARD. I LOVE THIS FLICK!!!
  • Sylvestermouse Feb 14, 2014 @ 3:07 pm
    An excellent review!!! Thank you!
  • Sir_Daniel_UK Feb 13, 2014 @ 3:30 pm
    Two beautifully written, directed and acted romance films not listed here but definitely should be, in my opinion are: 'When A Man Loves A Woman' - 1994. Stars, Meg Ryan and Andy Garcia. And 'Falling In Love' - 1984. Stars, Robert De Niro and Meryl Streep. I adore both movies, and I'm a male!
  • Sylvestermouse Feb 14, 2014 @ 1:02 pm
    Happy to add them for you! Thank you for your suggestions and I look forward to reading your reviews :)
  • nicolepyles86 Feb 12, 2014 @ 7:43 pm
    I just reviewed You've Got Mail! :) LOVE that movie!
  • kiwinana71 Feb 12, 2014 @ 2:30 pm
    Here's my review for all those romantic lovers, but this one has a sad ending.
    http://www.squidoo.com/wuthering-heights-40401
  • Arachnea Feb 11, 2014 @ 8:50 pm
    I love the Ghost and Mrs. Muir, too. I would love to get my hands on an original copy of the book. Since Hollywood is so into remakes, it would be nice if they'd do a remake of the movie then follow up with a really lovely contemporary tv series based on it. I hope to have my Valentines Day lens up in a couple days.
  • FreshStart7 Feb 09, 2014 @ 5:19 pm
    I already did a review for 2 of the movies that you have listed here. You might want to check them out: http://www.squidoo.com/the-notebook-true-love-at-its-best and http://www.squidoo.com/dirty-dancing-53623
  • grammieo Feb 08, 2014 @ 10:44 pm
    http://www.squidoo.com/40-years-ago

    For Lovers everywhere!
  • Charito1962 Jan 31, 2014 @ 9:39 am
    Hello. If you're interested, I also did a review on "Somewhere in Time" which I recently updated. Here's the link: http://www.squidoo.com/somewhere-in-time-film-review
  • Charito1962 Jan 30, 2014 @ 11:42 am
    Also, would you be interested in "Grease"? Here's the link:
    http://www.squidoo.com/grease-a-wholesome-youth-musical
  • eiramarie_0726 Jan 30, 2014 @ 12:40 am
    Oh.. what a great selections.. I might not just review one movie.. I try some two or three.. Thanks..
  • kristalulabelle84 Jan 23, 2014 @ 8:30 am
    Oh my goodness, so many favorites here! I'm going to have a tough time choosing which one to review!
  • notsuperstitious13 Jan 21, 2014 @ 5:29 pm
    Here are 2 reviews that I just updated recently this year.

    http://www.squidoo.com/romeo-and-juliet-movie-synopsis
    http://www.squidoo.com/somewhere-in-time-movie-synopsis
  • Sylvestermouse Jan 22, 2014 @ 11:49 am
    Thank you for sharing those with me! They are both awesome reviews and I love Somewhere in Time! I added a link to your review of that movie on my main Forever Hopeless Romantic Contributor lens and featured it on the Forever Hopeless Romanics page on facebook too. Thanks again! Totally awesome!
  • Nightcat Jan 18, 2014 @ 12:53 pm
    Hope this is what you wanted! :) http://nightcat.squidoo.com/cyrano-de-bergerac-review
  • Sylvestermouse Jan 18, 2014 @ 3:04 pm
    Beautifully written review. Even the review made me cry so I know I am going to love the movie! Thank you!!!
  • susan-zutautas Jan 18, 2014 @ 7:53 am
    Came back as I remembered on of my favorite movies is Overboard and I did a review on it awhile back.
    http://www.squidoo.com/overboard-a-romantic-comedy
  • mel-kav Jan 15, 2014 @ 6:32 am
    Great list! I can't believe I still haven't seen "The Notebook". That's one I must watch.
  • happynutritionist Jan 15, 2014 @ 12:38 am
    I see many above that I've seen, and a number I have to write down to see. I'm going to bookmark this page for reference...thank you!
  • nightbear Jan 15, 2014 @ 12:24 am
    My gosh, I can't believe how many of these I have seen. It's almost embarrassing...almost. LOL, I love romantic movies and you have compiled an outstanding list! Well done!
  • Wednesday_Elf Jan 14, 2014 @ 9:42 pm
    Wow -- so many favorites here -- so many I've seen more than once. In fact, I just watched "You've Got Mail" again this very week! And 'Sleepless in Seattle' - one of my all time favorites! Love these movies.
  • RenaissanceWoman2010 Jan 14, 2014 @ 3:24 pm
    You have included so many of my favorite movies here. Would love to have a romance-a-thon tonight and watch those films I have not yet seen. My heart is beating stronger just thinking about the possibilities.
  • susan-zutautas Jan 14, 2014 @ 2:39 pm
    I see a few movies here that I want to see that I've not seen yet. Great list!
  • Ruthi Jan 14, 2014 @ 2:32 pm
    Oh my! I guess I am truly a hopeless romantic as I've seen nearly all of these movies - more than once - what a fabulous collection of love stories! And now you have that Pretty Woman song dancing around in my head!
  • Nightcat Jan 14, 2014 @ 2:19 pm
    Does Cyrano de Bergerac from 1950 count?
  • CalobrenaOmai Feb 16, 2014 @ 11:32 pm
    1950? Hmm.. I saw a version from 1990 featuring Gérard Depardieu. Cyrano actually counts now that I think about it.
  • Jan 14, 2014 @ 2:16 pm
    I love Sandra Bullock
  • mbgphoto Jan 14, 2014 @ 2:15 pm
    LOVE your selections! Glad to see you have Dirty Dancing!